Making Democracy Work

LWV Wilmette Member Book

POLICIES, POSITIONS AND PROCEDURES 2016-2017 Updated November, 2016

LWV Mission

The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues and influences public policy through education and advocacy.

The purposes of the League are:

  • To establish positions on public policy through members' research, study and consensus and/or concurrence.

  • To take concerted actions that secure and support policies consistent with League positions.

  • To enhance citizen participation in federal, state and local government decisions.

  • To increase citizen participation in the election process.

LWV Wilmette Local "Program"

Local Program 2016-2017:

Supporting an Informed and Engaged Community
(i) Structure of public meetings in our community and how best to engage as a citizen (carryover of citizen civility from 2015-2016)
(ii) Where are your tax dollars going? To what governing bodies are you sending money, what do they do, and how effective are they
(iii) Taking the next step and running for local public office + what do you need to know?

Local Program 2015-2016:

Citizen Civility in Election Cycles and Local Issues
(i) How do we maintain civil discourse when differences in visions or opinions exist?
(ii) How do we encourage timely citizen participation in emerging issues?
(iii) Should/can we create useful municipal candidate how-to tutorials?

LWV Organization and Contact Information for Other LWVs

As a member of the League of Women Voters of Wilmette, you are also a member of:

League of Women Voters of the United States (LWVUS)
1730 M Street NW, Suite 1000
Washington DC 20036-4508
Tel 202 429-1965
FAX 202 429-0854
website for voter information:

League of Women Voters of Illinois (LWVIL)
332 S. Michigan Ave. Suite 525
Chicago IL 60604
Tel 312 939-5935
FAX 312 939-6887

League of Women Voters of Cook County (LWVCC)
332 S. Michigan Ave. Suite 1150
Chicago IL 60604
Tel 312 939-5935 ext. 27
FAX 312 919-6887

League of Women Voters Lake Michigan Region (LWVLMR)
332 S. Michigan Avenue, Suite 525
The LWVLMR is an Interleague Organization (ILO) made up of 48 local LWVs within the Lake Michigan watershed and regional planning areas, along with the four state LWVs. It is an integral part of and operates under the Natural Resources position of the LWVUS.

League of Women Voters Upper Mississippi River Region (LWVUMMR)
The LWVUMRR (pronounced "ummer") is an ILO comprised of almost 50 local LWVs from Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. The inaugural meeting was held in October 2015. Website and email TBD. Look for updates through LWVLMR.

Overview of LWV Advocacy, Education and "Program"

LWV Wilmette Local Positions

Click here to see our 2016 Wilmette league positions.

Meeting Schedule of Selected Wilmette Government Boards

Click here to see the meeting schedule of selected Wilmette Government Boards.

Elected Officials Contact Information

US Senator Richard J. Durbin (D)
711 Hart Senate Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
p: 202.224.2152
f: 202.228.0400
vrs: 202.540.9782
tty: 202.224.8180

US Senator Tammy Duckworth (D)
524 Hart Senate Office Bldg
Washington D.C. 20510
p: 202-224-2854
f: 202-228-0618

US Representative Jan Schakowsky (D) 9th District
2367 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington D.C. 20515
p: 202-225-2111
f: 202-226-6890

Governor of Illinois Bruce Rauner (R)
207 State House
Springfield, IL 62706
P: 217-782-0244 or 312-814-2121

State Senator Daniel Biss (D) 9th District
3706 Dempster St
Skokie, IL 60076
p: 217-782-2119 or 847-568-1250

State Representative Laura Fine (D) 17th District
1812 Waukegan Rd, Suite A
Glenview, IL 60025
p: 217-782-4194 or 847-998-1717

State Representative Robyn Gabel (D) 18th District
820 Davis St, Suite 103
Evanston, IL 60201
p: 217-557-7204 or 847-424-9898

Cook County Board Commissioner Larry Suffredin (D) 13th District
820 Davis St, Suite 104
Evanston, IL 60201
p: 847-864-1209 or 312-603-6383

Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle

Assessor Joseph Berrios

Clerk of the Circuit Court Dorothy Brown

County Clerk David Orr

Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough

Sheriff Thomas Dart

State's Attorney Kimberly Foxx

Treasurer Maria Pappas

Obtaining Information on Legislation

For current information on the status of legislation in Springfield:

For current information on status of national legislation:
You will need to know the number of the bill in Springfield or Washington.

To express your opinion to the U.S. President

Comments: 202-456-1111
Switchboard: 202-456-2461

To express your opinion to the Governor of Illinois:

Springfield: 217-782-0244
Chicago: 312-814-2121

LWV Wilmette Bylaws

Click here to read the Bylaws of the League of Women Voters of Wilmette.

LWV Wilmette Policies and Rules

Click here to see League of Women Voters of Wilmette policies on Political Activity, Candidate Forum Participation and our Standing Rules.

Glossary of League Specific Terms

There are many terms that are unique to the League of Women Voters! If you are confused by terms such as "PMP" and "Program". Click here to read a glossary of terms.

LWV Wilmette Board Positions and Job Descriptions

Click here for information on League of Women Voters of Wilmette Board positions and job descriptions.

LWV Wilmette Past Presidents

Click here for a list of the distinguished past Presidents of the League of Women Voters of Wilmette.